Paul W. Whetsell

Vice-Président du Conseil

Paul W. Whetsell possède plus de 35 années d’expérience dans le domaine hôtelier. Après avoir été président et chef de la direction de Loews Hotels & Resorts, M. Whetsell assume désormais le rôle de vice-président du conseil d’administration.

Avant de se joindre à Loews, il était PDG de CapStar Hotel Company à Arlington, en Virginie; il a fondé la CapStar Hotel Company en 1987.

En juillet 2002, MeriStar Hotels and Resorts, Inc. a fusionné avec Interstate Hotels Corporation pour créer Interstate Hotels and Resorts, Inc., dont M. Whetsell a assumé le rôle de président-directeur général jusqu'en octobre 2003 et dont il a été président du conseil d'administration jusqu'en mars 2009. En mai 2006, MeriStar Hospitality a été rachetée par Blackstone Group lors d’une des plus importantes opérations de privatisation du secteur.

Il est membre de l'Industry Real Estate and Financing Advisory Council, qui fait partie de l'American Hotel & Lodging Association, et a été président du conseil de l'AH&LA and Government Affairs Committee pendant plusieurs années. M. Whetsell a aussi été membre de la National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (NAREIT) et a fait partie de son conseil des gouverneurs. Il est actuellement membre de l'Urban Land Institute et de la Travel Business Roundtable ainsi que du conseil d'administration de NVR, Inc., l'un des plus grands constructeurs résidentiels des États-Unis. Il est membre de la Cystic Fibrosis Foundation et fait partie de son conseil des fiduciaires.

M. Whetsell est diplômé du Davidson College (1972).

Paul W. Whetsell

Vice Chairman

Paul W. Whetsell brings more than 35 years experience in the hospitality industry to Loews Hotels & Resorts. After serving as President & CEO for three years, Whetsell now assumes the role of Vice Chairman for Loews Hotels & Resorts.

Previously, he was President & CEO of CapStar Hotel Company in Arlington, Virginia. He founded the original CapStar Hotel Company in 1987.

In July 2002, MeriStar Hotels and Resorts, Inc. merged with Interstate Hotels Corporation, creating Interstate Hotels and Resorts, Inc.  Whetsell served as the Chairman & CEO of Interstate until October 2003, and served as the Chairman of the Board until March 2009. MeriStar Hospitality was sold to the Blackstone Group in one of the industry’s largest public to private transactions in May 2006.

He is a member of the American Hotel & Lodging Association’s Industry Real Estate and Financing Advisory Council, and for several years, served as chairman of the AH&LA and Government Affairs Committee.  Whetsell was also a member of the National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (NAREIT) and in the past served on NAREIT’s Board of Governors. He is a member of the Urban Land Institute and the Travel Business Roundtable and serves on the board of directors of NVR, Inc., one of the nation’s largest home builders. He is active with the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and is a member of its national Board of Trustees.

Whetsell graduated from Davidson College in 1972.

We are Working on Your Reservation
Please Wait